Mandatory Data Sharing Agreement

Provider Type

  • Physicians
  • Participating Physician Groups (PPG) 
    (does not apply to HSP)
  • Hospitals
  • Ancillary

The state of California established the California Health and Human Services (CalHHS) Data Exchange Framework (DxF) to oversee the electronic exchange of health and social services information in California.

Entities listed below must sign a data sharing agreement (DSA). To sign the DSA, go to

Participating entities that must sign a DSA include:

  • General acute care hospitals.
  • Physician organizations and medical groups.
  • Skilled nursing facilities.
  • Clinical laboratories.
  • Acute psychiatric hospitals.

The Plan may apply a corrective action plan if the agreement is not signed.